Website updated 19/12/16



Gerard Schneider


Klaus Eschbach


Loek van Tiggelenand


Flemming Jensin

CEP Medal of Honour

The CEP Medal of Honour is presented to individuals in recognition of services to the CEP and to the sport of Pétanque.

The first Medal of Honour was presented to Mr. Gerard Schneider, President of the Luxembourg Federation.

Gerard received the medal for the way he had developed the CEP after the death of the first President Karsten Köhler.


As the 2nd President of the CEP he was the main driving force of the organization. When he resigned from the CEP in 2004 he had established a good foundation for the new Board to continue the work to develop the CEP, as we know it today.

The second Medal of Honour was presented to Mr. Klaus Eschbach, President of the German Federation. Klaus was the Vice-President and Treasurer of the CEP until he moved to Thailand. In addition to the responsibility for the financial balance in a rapidly growing organization Klaus found time to design the CEP logos and was always working at the control table during every European Championship.

The third Medal of Honour was presented to Mr. Loek van Tiggelen for his extraordinary work. As the CEP General Secretary he was responsible for communicating with all our member Federations and keeping records of all meetings, Loek also took on the vital task of distributing the EuroCup documentation and gathering all the results ensuring this important championship ran smoothly every year.

The fourth and for now final Medal of Honour was presented to Flemming Jensin at the European Championship for Women held in Mersin, Turkey for his service to the CEP.
Flemming joined the Board of the CEP in 1999 and from 2002 until 2004 he served as a Vice President. In 2004, following Gerard Schneider, Flemming was elected President a post he held until September 2014 when after a total of 15 years service to our sport with the CEP he decided to retire.